Tags

, , ,

OK, I admit it… I love the Twilight Series… no I am not a tween, teen or even a young adult… far from it… but I still love Twilight.

I have been to see all of the movies, most with my friend Jess.  Of course we had to go see Breaking Dawn, Part 2.  The last movie of the series… the end…

I’ve read the books, Jess has not.  So every time that we go to see another one of the Twilight movies, I have to be sure to keep my mouth shut so I don’t ruin it for her.  That’s how closely these movies follow the book.  Except Breaking Dawn, Part 2…

I started out by watching Breaking Dawn, Part 1 to revisit it before going to see Part 2.  I highly recommend doing that – you will see things the second time around that you did not see the first time.

In Part 2, Bella is now a vampire… she is the same temperature as Edward (as he points out to her).  When she sees Jacob for the first time after she has been turned, she notes that she now sees that everyone is right, he stinks like a dog.  She is testing her limits and getting to know her daughter, Renesmee (what a name!) I loved the scene where she found out that Jacob had imprinted on ‘Nessie’ (Nessie? You nicknamed my daughter after the Loch Ness monster?)… Bella was ready to kill Jacob, one of the men she loved, until she realized that it was meant to be, like she was meant to be with Edward.  And all through the movie, you just knew that she was the powerful one, you just didn’t realize how powerful.  But that’s what I loved about the books/movies… they showed young girls that it was okay to have their own ideas and how to stay with them. Bella goes from being a shy, introverted young lady to a strong, powerful woman who will do anything to protect her family and friends.

I had read that they changed the ending of the movie, that it was not the same as the ending of the book.  That disappointed me, I loved the end of the Breaking Dawn book…that is until I saw the movie…. When it got to the battle scene, I was shocked, saddened and crying.  With each beheading, the shock became more and more….No, what a horrible ending… the book was so much better… And Then…

Well, I’m not going to spoil it for anyone who has not seen the movie.  All I have to say is that at one point Jess and I just stared at each other with our mouths open.  And of course ‘Whew!’  is a word that comes to mind.  ‘Wow’ is another.

After seeing the movie, I understand why they changed it.  I have to say, that it is a fantastic ending… I loved it!  And I can’t wait to see the movie again….

I say that it is the best movie of the series… don’t listen to the critics!  Go and see it!

